A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth: A verse in its honour

Here’s rhyme dedicated to Vikram Seth’s mangum opus that I recently concluded. Honestly, the last three lines are more for the sake of the poem and do not refelct my actual feelings. Though managing such a bulky(and mine was hard-bound) book is irksome(just think of carrying around outdoors), one does get used to it.

A fine novel you have, Mr. Seth,

at times it does take away my breath

just wondering of its very size.

I must say it is extremely wise

to bring to life such rich characters,

leaders, idlers, bards and barristers.

Through people, culture, trades and cities,

astute comments and subtle witties

you prove yourself a gifted writer.

But if only the book was shorter

I could wield the work with bit more ease

So next time could you shorten it please?

 

 

© 2007 mystic-wanderer

 

2 thoughts on “A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth: A verse in its honour

  1. marjory

    I’m reading “A Suitable Boy” for the 2nd time.
    Since my first reading of VK’s wonderful book, I’ve read many books (both fiction + non-fiction) about India.

    So, I now understand many of the references.
    However, if you have time, I wonder if you’d be so kind as to answer 2 questions:

    The surname Gaur. I Googled Sikh surnames + found confirmation that the surname Kaur used by many Sikh women, is sometimes written Gaur.
    However, Mrs Rupa Mehra’s Delhi Suitable Boy adviser is a Kshatria.
    The Bengali Chatterjis are Brahmo, which I took to mean Brahmin.
    Apparently not, given the marriage of Meenakshi + Arun. Again, Kshatrias.

    I would be grateful for your clarification.

    Reply
    1. mystic wanderer Post author

      Hello,
      Here are my responses:

      1. I believe Gaurs can be Punjabis too, not necessarily Sikh.

      2. Brahmo is different from Brahmin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brahmoism). It was founded to counter the ill effects of narrow minded caste system and Brahmin hegemony of the time.
      Chatterji (or Chatterjee) is a Brahmin surname however.

      Happy second reading!
      MW

      Reply

Leave a Reply

